top of page
  • jorantes

Crystals

Updated: May 5, 2020


After taking a look at the botanical tarot cards and seeing the meaning for the use of some of the flowers as having healing properties I decided to look into crystals because I am familiar with certain crystals having healing powers. I tried drawing a ruby on tracing paper with colored pencils and wasnt a fan of the outcome. I switched over to mixed media and came up with the idea of doing something somewhat geometric. I chose to look into the moon card and the moon itself. I know that the moon has powerful meaning and too some a full moon can have a positive or negative connotation. As do owls which are nocturnal creatures. Owls are believed to be both good and bad omens which is why i sketched a half face of an owl. Then I looked into the opal crystal which is surprisingly used in dark magic but has a healing aspects as well. I liked how all of these things had double ended meanings so I thought theyd flow together. Instead of drawing an opal i decided to use a section of the page and take inspiration from the opals colors. I layed down a layer of water then mixed water color and acrylic to get the pastel effect of the opal. Not sure if i love that method of dropping the watercolor but I liked the experimentation. For this piece im staying away from a complete border and will only be using the number of the moon tarot card at the very top. Will be working on it again once the watercolor dries.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page