top of page
  • jorantes

Midterm




My idea stemmed from my interest for the art on tarot cards and the mysticism of tarot in general. In my research of tarot cards i found a quote that said “Tarot is not about revealing a fixed future, but rather than exploring your unconscious self.” After this I looked into the meaning of each card and how the orientation of the cards affects the meaning. Hence why in one of my drawings one of the images is portrayed upside down. I was intrigued by the many depictions of the death card so I decided to create my own take on one. I started of with the idea of wanting to do something that portrayed both the ugly and beauty of death. When discussing the death tarot card i found a website that said “we talk of death as if it is a beautiful experience .. death doesnt mean death (in terms of the card) it means transition, or the end of something. I used the skull because it is iconic to the every depiction of the death card and then the mix of a smokey fire and beautiful peacock feathers to portray this transition. I formed the peacock feathers in the form of wings.







These are some sketches of ideas I had for potential pieces.

My original idea was to do almost an installation like piece where I would have mannequin sitting on a desk with the cards I designed infront of her on a desk but I decided to spend my time and effort on making the tarot card instead. I will be experimenting on making another card.


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page