top of page
  • jorantes

RE: Jerry Saltz - How to be an Artist

In highschool is when I discovered how strong my interest was for art. I took every art class I was allowed to take. I even considered pursuing a career in solely art but I made the realization I liked learning about art more than I liked creating it (which I also enjoy very much) after taking an advanced placement art history course. This class and the Art History course I took here at Old Westbury as the reasons I was able to recognize names such as Piet Mondrian, Pollock, Matisse, Bernini, Paul Gaugen and Andy Warhol. My doubts are mostly the reason which I didn’t immediately apply to art schools as well as knowing that my passion was teaching. This article touches upon a lot of the doubts and fearful thoughts that would run across my mind whenever I would create any type of art piece. Lesson number 1 of this article immediately resonated with the doubtfulness I would often encounter I would get hung up on worrying if my work looked good but by reading “art doesn't have to make sense; it doesn't even have to be good” made me realize that it’s all about creating and just making something that is pleasing enough for you which is also touched upon in lesson four. It is stated that “art is not about understanding or mastery” which I also agree with, if it makes you feel good as an artist that should be good enough. Another one would be number 25 which was all about learning to deal with rejection. The possibility of rejection daunts a lot of people including myself but it is an obstacle that needs to be overcome in order to be successful in anything He last one I will mention is lesson fourteen which relates artists to cat I am a huge cat lover and have always thought this as well.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page